The Agriculture program provides support to local agricultural producers and businesses through a three-county arrangement among Washington, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan counties. The Agents in these counties specialize in Farm Business Management, Agronomy, Dairy Production, Facilities, and Livestock.


CornfieldWashington County is located in the heart of the Kettle Moraine area.  The county is located just north of Milwaukee.  It is in a diverse agricultural area.  In recent years there has been a shift from dairy and livestock to cash crops and specialty agriculture products.

According to data from the 2012 Agricultural Census, there are about 712 farms and over 133,000 acres of farmland in the county.  There are just over 109 dairy farms with about 15,500 cows, setting new total production records for Washington County.

The varied topography and soil types of the Kettle Moraine provide growing conditions suitable to a wide range of crops.  Major crops grown include corn, corn silage, alfalfa, soybeans, wheat, oats, barley, sweet corn, peas, red beets, and a wide range of direct market fruits, vegetables, and specialty crops.

Washington County is home to a number of agri-businesses that support agriculture.  In recent years there has also been an increase in the nursery, greenhouse, and landscape industry.


Stephanie Plaster, Agriculture Educator

Steph Plaster
Agriculture Extension Educator
Washington and Ozaukee Counties

Extension Washington County
333 E. Washington Street, Suite 1200
PO Box 2003
West Bend, WI 53095-2003
Phone: 262-335-4477
Fax: 262-335-4863
Relay “711”

Michelle Hansen – Program Assistant

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share